Industrial Relations

        Labour Department is instrumental in maintaining cordial industrial relations. Its conciliation machinery consists of the Labour Commissioner, Additional Labour commissioner (IR), Regional Joint Labour commissioners, Deputy Labour Commissioner (HQ), District Labour Officers (General), Deputy Labour Officers and Assistant Labour Officers Gr.I. The industrial disputes are settled mainly through the intervention of the conciliation officers through the process of conciliation. If conciliation fails, the dispute is referred for adjudication by Labour Courts/ Industrial Tribunals. Besides DLO is the conciliation officers of the Kerala Head Load Workers Act, 1978 with powers to settle/decide disputes.


Industrial Relations Committees

       The Government of Kerala, under the chairmanship of Labour commissioner, for maintaining industrial peace and harmony, constitutes the Industrial Relations committees. The members of the IRC are persons having thorough knowledge about the issues experienced by the employers and workmen. Equal number of representatives from employers and trade union are included in the IRC. The Industrial Relations committees through discussions arrive at decisions on wage revision, bonus, service conditions of the workers of the respective industry etc. Though the decisions / settlements of IRC are not enforceable by law, the settlement / decision taken by the committee are considered as a general agreement in the State as a whole. At present 11 Industrial Relations committees are functioning in the State.


They are :-


1. IRC for Toddy Tapping Industry

2. IRC for Motor Transport Industry

3. IRC for Cashew Industry

4. IRC for Kuttanad Agricultural Sector

5. IRC for Coir Industry

6. IRC for Private Hospital

7. Plantation Labour Committee

8. IRC for Supplyco

9. IRC for News Paper Industry

10. IRC for Textile Industry

11. IRC Board

Online users

We have 6 guests and no members online

Site Last Modified

  • Last Modified: Thursday 25 November 2021.